

Better leadership. Healthier communities.

MINUTES OF THE 68TH ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF THE AUSTRALASIAN COLLEGE OF HEALTH SERVICE MANAGEME NT HELD ON TUESDAY 23 SEPTEMBER 2014 AT 4.30 PM AT MERCURE GROSVENOR HOTEL ADELAIDE AUSTRALIA

1. CALL TO ORDER AND ENTRANCE OF THE OFFICIAL PARTY

Catherine Chaffey CEO called all to order for the entrance of the official party.

2. WELCOME TO GUESTS AND CONFIRMATION OF PREVIOUS AGM MINUTES

John Rasa President, welcomed members and guests to the 68th Annual General Meeting of the Australasian College of Health Service Management (ACHSM).

A special welcome was extended to friends and colleagues from, New Zealand, China, Hong Kong, United States of America, United Kingdom, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and Malaysia.

John Rasa President moved a motion to confirm and adopt the minutes of the 67th Annual General Meeting which had been uploaded on the College's website and distributed to members.

"The Minutes of the 67th Annual General Meeting of ACHSM confirmed and adopted"

MOVED: Anne-Marie Stranger SECONDED: John Turner CARRIED

3. PRESENTATION OF THE 68th ANNUAL REPORT

President John Rasa reported on the highlights for the year.

"The Annual Report for the year ended 30 June 2014 be received and adopted"

MOVED: Godfrey Isouard SECONDED: Anne-Marie Stranger CARRIED

4. FINANCIAL REPORT

4.1 PRESENTATION OF FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AND HONORARY TREASURER'S REPORT

Graham Hyde – Treasurer presented the financial statements for April to June 2013 in order to facilitate change to New Financial Year July to June, and also the financial statements for year end 30 June 2014.

"The financial statements for the year ended June 2013 and June 2014 be received and adopted"

MOVED: Anne-Marie Stranger SECONDED: Godfrey Isouard CARRIED

4.2 APPOINTMENT OF AUDITOR

The financial reports for Corporate Office and all Branches for the last financial year were undertaken by Alkemade & Associates. The audits were of a high standard and provided the College with useful information.

"Alkemade & Associates be appointed as the College auditors for the current financial year"

MOVED: Kerry Clifford SECONDED: Anne-Marie Stranger CARRIED

5. APPOINTMENT OF BOARD DIRECTORS AND INVESTITURE OF BRANCH PRESIDENTS

Catherine Chaffey CEO in accordance with the Constitution announced that the following members had been nominated by local Branches as representatives on the Board of Directors for a 3 year period from 27 August 2013.

Branch	Name
Australian Capital Territory	Lt Col Kerry Clifford
New South Wales	Godfrey Isouard
Queensland	Glynda Summers
South Australia	Mark Diamond
Tasmania	Anne-Marie Stranger
Victoria	John Rasa, John Turner
Western Australia	Neale Fong
Immediate Past President	Kate Copeland
Independent Directors	Graham Hyde and Tim Smyth
New Zealand	Jenni Coles
Hong Kong	Dr Hok Cheung MA

John Rasa, President invested the following Branch Presidents with the insignia of office; he wished all Branch Presidents success in meeting their objectives in 2014/2015 year.

Branch	President
Australian Capital Territory	Lesley Dickens
New South Wales	Dominic Dawson
Queensland	Graham Hyde
South Australia	Kae Martin
Tasmania	Amanda Quealy (for John Kirwan)
Victoria	John Turner
Western Australia	Neale Fong
New Zealand	Jenni Coles
Invitee	
Dr Hok Cheng MA	Hong Kong

6. PRESENTATION OF AWARDS AND PRIZES

6.1 MEMBERSHIP

The Gold Medal winner for 2014 was announced and awarded to Richard Baldwin (NSW)

Life Membership was awarded to four ACHSMs' long standing members:

Godfrey Isouard (NSW) Geoff Tattersall (SA) David Webb (VIC) Dr Stephen Duckett (VIC)

Honorary Fellowship

This year Honorary Fellowship has been bestowed upon:

Dr Brendan Murphy – Chief Executive Officer Austin Health

6.2 FELLOWSHIP

Mark Diamond Acting Chief Examiner thanked the candidates, examiners and study coordinators.

ACT – Kerry Clifford NSW – Mary Ditton, Linda Kurti QLD – Gwenda Summers/Anneke Fitzgerald SA – Gary Day TAS – Anne-Marie Stranger

VIC – Helen Rizzoli

WA – Trenton Greive/Thelma Burnett

NZ - Jagpal Benipar, Jennie Coles

HK – Dr Fowie Ng

He welcomed the following members inducted as new fellows of the College, having completed all examination and eligibility requirements and congratulated the Fellows on a fine achievement

From Australia:

Name
Terri Antonio
Dianne Bianchini
Julie Connell
Learne Durrington
Prof Stephen Gatt
Tania Hobson
Jane Judd
Kieran McDonald
Debra Millist
Dr Douglas Morel
Greg Mundy

Jane Newcomb
Dr Charles Pain
Dominic Sandilands
Cindy Smith
Gowri Sriraman
Dr Ka Chun Tse
Margaret Way

Catherine Chaffey, CEO called upon Dr Hok Cheng MA President of the Hong Kong College of Health Service Executives to announce the new fellows from Hong Kong.

From Hong Kong:

Name
Ms. CHAN Yuk Sim
Ms. TONG Chiu Hung Jennifer
Ms. WU Ying Shi Inez
Ms. CHAN Yin Ping Annie
Mr. CHOK Sik Chuen Daniel
Mr. FONG Ho Ching Jacky
Dr. TSE Chun Wai Martin
Dr. LAU Yue Young Geoffrey
Mr. CHAN Chun Man, Raymond
Dr. MAK Siu King
Dr. NG Ming Yung Jocelyn
Dr. LI Hei Lim Felix
Mr. CHIU Tan Hoi, James
Mr. CHAN Ka Po Trevor

6.3 ACADEMIC PRIZES

Ian Brand Prize – for the best grade point average in a master's course in health management – Dr David Tremewen, La Trobe University and Wayne Bullock, Griffith University both with a grade point average of 7.0

Grace Suleau Prize – for the best grade point average in a under graduate diploma course in health management- Elena Whippy, University of Western Sydney with a grade point average of 6.0

Anthony Suleau Prize – for the best grade point average in a postgraduate diploma course in health management – Antonietta Muscillo, University of Technology Sydney and Shayne Larymore, University of Technology Sydney both with a grade point average of 6.0

7 GENERAL BUSINESS

No general business was discussed.

8 CLOSE

There being no further matters to discuss Catherine Chaffey CEO declared the meeting closed at 5.30pm.

This is the final page of the Minutes of Annual General Meeting of the Australasian College of Health Service Management held on 23/09/2014

9.12

Chair: John Rasa Signature: Date: 23/09/2014