ACHSM-Aotearoa Annual General Meeting (AGM)

Minutes of Meeting 14 June 2022 5pm to 6.15 pm

Present:Cathy Cooney (President)Craig TamblynDavid Waters

Thérèse Jeffs (Treasurer) Charmaine Pene Dave Nicholl
Cathy Cummings (Secretary) Jagpal Benipal Jacqueline Jeffs
Andrew Wilson (Guest Speaker) Natalie Lindsay Jan Adams
Jayanthi Mohanakrishnan Karen Orsborn Paula Murray
Greg Vandergoot Kathy Davenport Marion Dixon

Shelly McIntosh

Nick Saville-Wood

Brian Emery

Apologies: Jane George Janet Keys

1) Welcome and apologies

Cathy opened the meeting with karakia from Kaumatua Brian Emery.

2) Confirmation of 13 June 2020 AGM minutes

The minutes of the AGM held on the 15 June 2021 were confirmed

Proposed Cathy Cooney **Seconded** Karen Orsborn

Kathy Davenport

3) President's Report

The President's Report was taken as read, tabled and highlights noted.

Cathy noted that it had been a pleasure for her to lead the Aotearoa Branch of the College over the past year. There have been many highlights:

- 1. Refresh of strategic plan
- 2. Monthly interactive Journal Club meetings
- 3. Engagement with MOH Leadership Capability Project
- 4. Commenced the ACHSM certification programme
- 5. Initiated the Aotearoa mentoring programme
- 6. Commenced the webinar speaker's programme
- 7. Launched the new ACHSM Aotearoa logo and brand with a beautiful accompanying video
- 8. Commenced discussions with two universities regarding ACHSM accreditation of their post graduate health management programmes

Cathy acknowledged the Council members and many others who had contributed to the College activities over the past year.

Two people from New Zealand have been awarded Fellowship to the College this past year through the Alternative Pathway. They are Thérèse Jeffs and Helen Parker.

Four candidates for the Fellowship programme and exam have been identified this year.

Cathy declared a Conflict of Interest in relation to the development of the ACHSM-Aotearoa brand and logo. A defined process was followed to award a graphic design company this task. Because Cathy Cooney's niece was a tenderer, Cathy absented herself from all decisions and discussions relating to the award of the tender. At ACHSM-A board meetings, this process was instead led by Cathy Cummings. This process was described and explained at the AGM. No concerns were raised by any members present.

Proposal to accept President's Report

Moved Cathy Cooney
Seconded Paula Murray

4) Treasurers Report

Thérèse Jeffs as Treasurer for the Council tabled the Treasurer's report for 2022. She reported that an independent review was commissioned in lieu of the accounts being audited. There is no legal or other need for our accounts to be audited. However, Council felt an independent review was required to assure members of fiscal responsibility.

The Independent Reviewer noted:

Independent Review by Ruth Wall Accounting Services: For the year ended 31 March 2022

I have conducted a review of the Charities Report. This review included finalising the Charities Report supplied by the Treasurer Therese Jeffs and reviewing the bank reconciliation and related documentation. A review is limited primarily to enquiries of the Treasurer and general analytical procedures applied to the financial data and thus provide less assurance than an audit. The review is limited to Australian College of Health Service Management - Aotearoa (ACHSM-A) and no review is taken of procedures prior to monies being receipted. I have not performed an audit and, accordingly, I do not express an audit opinion. Based on my review, nothing has come to my attention that causes me to believe that the accompanying Charities Report does not give a true and fair view (or are not presented fairly, in all material aspects).

Yours Faithfully Ruth Emtage, Ruth Wall Accounting Services

Proposal to accept Treasurer's Report

Moved Nick Saville-Wood **Seconded** Craig Tamblyn

5) Election of NZIHM National Council members 2022

Current National Council members standing again and accepted for 2022: Karen Osborn, Cathy Cooney, Paula Murray, Charmaine Pene, Thérèse Jeffs, Jacqueline Jeffs, Natalie Lindsay

Two Council members have had their terms renewed

Cathy Cummings and Craig Tamblyn

Proposal to renew term for these two members

Moved: Charmaine Pene

Seconded: Jan Adams

With the resignation of John McManus from Council, this has left a vacancy. Dave Nicholl has been nominated to join National Council.

Proposal to accept Dave Nicholl on National Council

Moved: Kathy Davenport **Seconded:** Paula Murray

Jagpal Benipal has completed his three terms as National Council member. Our constitution only allows a person to remain on Council for three terms. However, Jagpal fulfils a very important and valued role as Fellowship Coordinator. Because of the importance of this role, Council requires the Fellowship Coordinator to be a full or ex officio member of the Council. Therefore, it is proposed that Jagpal remains an ex officio member of National Council.

Moved: Cathy Cooney

Seconded: Jayanthi Mohanakrishnan

Office bearers:

Office bearers for National Council were confirmed as:

- President Cathy Cooney
- Treasurer Thérèse Jeffs
- Secretary Cathy Cummings

6) General Business

Nil

AGM attendees were privileged to listen to a presentation on Health Workforce changes, challenges, and opportunities from Andrew Wilson, Acting DDG Workforce, Ministry of Health.

With sincere thanks to Andrew for his presentation and to all attendees at the AGM from Cathy Cooney, the meeting closed at 6.20pm with karakia from Kaumatua Brian Emery.